Skip to content

Thoughts…..

September 18, 2008

Musical Mood : Sleeping child

You Know what?? Livingalone in a foreign land teaches you a lot!! Yesterday, I was just thinking what did I observe living in a different country??Immediately I did not get any answers, through the day, there were many instances where I thought ya this is not the same back in India…….shayad, its true that we see what we want!!!

Well, What did I realise??? I wanted to tell about the old people here in their 70-80s……

I did not see one of my collegue since 2 months….Yesterday I saw him and asked what happened? He said, smiling…”Ahh …Thanks for asking…I was not well…I just got a surgery done to mutate my malignant tumor”….and then left….I was like “Ohhhh nooooo!!!!”
That means he had cancer and he is smiling and looks fit now!!! You know what cured him sooo easily??? His CONFIDENCE!!!

I observed, people here are not scared……when i say not scared…I mean if an 60 yr old gets a chronic disease….he goes to see his doctor, all by himself, gets himself diagnoised and get fit soon….They are confident….They do not go to panic mode….like us in India….and mind you average life expectancy here seems to be 70 and you can find people in 50s planning about what they should do when they are 80.

I also thought why is it this ways here??? Why are we not as confident??? Why is Life expectancy low??

The first reason I got is…..Here these people are self sufficient or rather more than that…………not only, economically….but also in every other field….This gives them a part of the confidence….

Second one, They know money cannot buy them an extra few days on this earth….but still they are confident that nothing would happen……..why??? Is it because medical science is advanced here.??? No….because, I saw and I can tell you we have much better service and also cheaper service in
India…….then whats the reason????

I feel, in a sense, they love themselves more than anything else…..that makes them take care of themselves….and protect themselves….and once you know what you are doing clearly, be it be related to anything…you get a sort of confidence….a confidence that nothing can stop you coz you are right!!
[…Disagreeing???….I am not talking about the young generation here who dont even have respect for themselves… ]
What say you??

One more thing here is, these old people are very independent…..I Love to see old couples to move around as if they are just married….they do all sort of adventurous trips that we do….they go on holidays and enjoy as if they are on honeymoon just after marriage….I was sooo surprised actually….I did not expect people in this country to be soo much emotional!!!

Is it something missing in India??? Hmm ….I feel older generation in India tend to be effected by health problems, get old or rather feel older quicker than these people…..And ya, one big reason I feel is because…”father thinks of son till his son has a son” ….ie; we tend to give family highest priority…..especially the mother of the family!! Their whole life is gone in taking care of ,us, the children….and by the time they are free to enjoy the world…they have little life left…sadly!!

But people in the west give the highest priority to themselves before even considering others….(thats my observation in this brief time)…and I consider this as not being selfish definitely…..

I think its the duty of us, the younger generation, to take good care of parents…and let them really enjoy life the way they want….and give them the confidence (wherever they want) !!

PS : I had soo much more to tell…but somehow could not put all of them in words….Hope the message was clear enough!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 10:30 pm

    These are very intresting observations, you show some controverses (like confidence and care) and examples which are refreshing! thanks and keep it up!

  2. hermione03 permalink*
    September 19, 2008 2:14 am

    Thanks Axinia….Hope I would be regular in posting 🙂

  3. September 26, 2008 1:54 am

    Hey,

    The otherday I was reading ‘How to start blogging”, found your comment and I sailed to your first post.This is really cool…you have got the writting style…..

    I have also started a blog…dont know how interesting is my first post……

    I agree with you…each and everyone should take care of their parents….thats the only way to reach god….

    That help is nothing compared to the sacrifice our parents have done for us….

    Happy Blogging !!!

    Regards,
    Dewdrops

  4. September 26, 2008 8:21 am

    heyy thanks a lot!!!

    You know what?? I have just commented on ur post ….same way sailing from Axinia’s blog!!

    I am glad! Thank you!!

    Keep visiting and keep blogging!!

  5. September 26, 2008 4:15 pm

    Confidence is the key.. 🙂

    You wrting style is so good, the message was conveyed.. will keep visting the blog.. keeo writing.

  6. September 26, 2008 4:40 pm

    True confidence is the key!!

    Thanks Sharad!!

Leave a Reply

