Skip to content

Hunger – Do you know how it feels like??

October 19, 2008

Prelude : Narration

It was half past 11….my collegue sitting opp to me suddenly looked up….I smiled sheepishly and said “sorry”…and then in 5 mins everyone started smiling at me…..I was like “OMG,kya keroon??”.

One of them came and said, “Its ok dear, we will go for lunch in 10 mins :)..I guess you did not have breakfast!” Now I guess you understood what i was talking about! Ya, these were strange sounds coming out of my stomach, that made my collegues smile at me! And Ya you are correct….I did not get anything except for baked beans on lunch..Gosh its wednesday – no vegetarian stuff!!Then I had to wait for about 5 hrs to get back to may home and cook!!

Leaving all that behind….I felt so bad feeling hungry, burning in my stomach and even drinking water numerous times did not help!!

It just came over my mind, How bad people who dont get food at all would be feeling??? How bad their stomachs would be growling??? In my very own country, how many people eat atleast once a day??? We tend to complain to our moms this is not there, thats not tasty etc…..dont we?? And thats human nature cant help….but we can help in some other way!! We could help someone who is need always…..Today, I decided, I am not going to waste food anymore…And would definetely do something atleast if it feeds one person!! 

I dont know about NGO’s and how they work….I dont know how well, if help rendered, reach the person in need….I dont know, how much I could help anyone financially…….But What I know is, I can offer food definetely!! Not as alms, never, but I can share!!

I sometimes wonder….if anyone feels the need to contribute to a cause/someone,why all these formalities before it reaches the person??? Is it because, it would reach wrong hands?? Or is it to create a platform for a common cause?? Might be so!! But for something happening before your eyes, do you need all these stuff?? I dont feel so….I cant wipe out hunger and poverty but I shall do whatever is in my small hands!!  And I hope all my readers also agree with me and do something in their hands!! 

I dont call it a service….I call it responsibility!! Do something while you can!!

Guys, come up with better ideas if you have!!

 

PS: I know, I felt only tiny winy bit of hunger….But it did tell me a lot!! And hence the title!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2008 11:51 am

    Sahaja,

    I have felt quite hungry a few times as well but could not have lunch because of the work at hand, but felt relieved when we had a hearty meal afterwards. That is the difference between our hunger and those who have hunger forced on them due to economic circumstances. We can always eat a good meal after some time but they have to starve for hours just for a bowl of porridge 😦
    Sahaja: Ya Raj, thats why I felt the difference between us and those who cannot get that piece meal…I was wondering if I could help 😦

  2. October 19, 2008 7:03 pm

    My dear girl,
    this is a good topic. And it is good to think about these things.
    As for the concrete actions… I never donate my money to any organisation, because you never know who and how uses them. Unfortunately, mostly the organisers get rich with that money themselves.

    What I personally do is I love to support people who are in need, but whom I presonally know (for instance, in Russia or Ukraine). I give them directly and I know that it does good to them.

    In your case you could find a poor family in India and support them constantly with money, but not only for food, but more for education of children. that is the best investment.

  3. October 20, 2008 6:48 am

    Dear Sahaja,

    So you have not heard of ‘Sankashta’ – the day in every month when Indians fast – no breakfast or lunch, you eat only at night.

    That day the food tastes sooo good.

    Sahaja : I have not heard of that swaps….but we do fast on saturdays of every week at home :)….but i guess the case is different when you know you are going to have a nice meal later…..Hmm….what I wanted to bring in is what about millions of people starving out there, how shud they be feeling!!!
    Also, whatever we do is mainly for food na…..thats a minimum need for any human…and I was so dumbstruck when it occured to me that there are so many people not meeting with this basic need….somehow felt very sad!! 😦

  4. October 20, 2008 9:35 am

    Wow Sahaja,
    Indeed a great topic. i always felt just like you, to do something to this poor people and also i agree with Axinia that helping through some organization may not truely reach the needy.

    i saw some pictures from Africa probably Somalia or Ethiopia, where a boy was drinking the urine from a cow and a vulture eagerly waiting for a starving kid to die. That pictures really brought tears to my eyes. But alas how could we help them. through whom?
    If we send the money to some organization whether it would really reach them or not. I am constantly thinking over that.

    I read an article by a Sai devotee who does Narayana Seva by helping others. He is from New Jersey and one night he saw a person in wragged clothes, on a cold winter, homeless, sitting below a flyover and when he tried to offer him his coat, that man asked for some food as he did not have food for two days. Immediately he went to the nearby food store, bought some food and distributed to that person and others and he is continuing distributing food, clothes and medicines every day till now.

    Why don’t we ourselves identify someone near to us and help them? i do that whenever possible but that is not sufficient. we can do a lot more.

    Really selfless people from different countries need to unite and form a charitable organization and help poor people in the poor countries. i had this idea but no initiative. how to start whom to start with? if you can do something on this lines i am ready to contribute.

  5. October 20, 2008 2:46 pm

    You clearly mentioned what and where the problem lies. Even though many of them likes to contribute to the society there is a problem that whether it reaches the right people.

    So as suggested by axinia its better to provide the help who are in need directly. There is no other way. Many of the NGO’s are fake. By establishing a NGO they are making themselves rich without caring about the people in need.

  6. October 21, 2008 7:56 pm

    And I have done with my tag. I hope its good.

  7. October 21, 2008 8:55 pm

    learning lessons the hard way…..hmmm good

    In Pune(India) where I live, we got a NGo, which collects the food remains from houses and delivers it to needed :), some1 thought about it, and its working 🙂 No wastage.

  8. October 21, 2008 8:55 pm

    and yes.. they dont take money..they only take food from you… not all NGO’s are fake.

  9. October 21, 2008 9:56 pm

    @ Axinia :Ya , it was a question in my mind that how much share of actual money donated reaches the needy??

    One thing I do here is, I give clothes, books, cds etc as a donation to British heart foundation or Hope Hospice etc…which are nearby and accessible to me here. By this, the revenue they generate selling these items will go to the charity…..but since I am away from India, I cannot really do anything in person :-(…..To be honest with you, we cultivated such a attitude to help needy from my parents…
    She taught us to share whatever little we have among ourselves……

    I got goosebumps, the moment i realised there are millions of people not even getting their basic needs like food and water…..thats why I had an urge to frame and do something that can show results!!

    Thanks for the idea, one family already flashed on my mind, as soon as I saw your comment…..I hope to do that soon 🙂

    @ Sailaja :I can completely understand what you are feeling, mainly because, I feel in a similar way too!!!

    As I said above, I am planning to implement the idea Axinia gave….I believe if we can help giving education to someone who cannot afford, we would be giving them confidence to live :-)…..so my plans work…I am back to India for a month in Dec….I hope to get things started !! {I dont want to hurt their feelings by offering financial assistance…so I shall seek my mom’s help too!!}

    Thanks for the support and sharing your ideas 🙂

    @ Kanagu , Sharad :

    I agree not all of them are fake…but even if we have good intentions, we need to ensure, its not lost in the way…..thats why I wanted to do something first at an individual level, and if that succeeds we can spread it….what do u say?
    In telugu we say “Apatradanam cheyaradu”
    Apatradanam means donating to someone who doesnt deserve/need!! we should be very careful that it doesnt fall in wrong hands!!

    PS: I shall check the tag too 🙂 I am sure it would be good!!

  10. October 22, 2008 1:05 pm

    What we can do?
    I think:
    First, control population. IF that explodes (already has), no miracle can save us.

    Second, food distribution must be transparent. There is a sinister lobby that can with-hold food to get a good price.

    Third, go back to sustainable and eco-friendly cultivation (this might be at odds with fight against hunger because it’s yield is less – but it is sustainable. Difficult choice).

    To be honest, I think the hard fact is somebody has to die of hunger 😦 This is kalyug.

  11. October 22, 2008 1:13 pm

    Hey, ever watched Charlie Chaplin’s “Modern Day”?
    Do it, if you haven’t. IT is hilarious, esp one scene that is similar to what you have written at the beginning of thsi post.

  12. October 22, 2008 5:22 pm

    @ swaps

    Hmm….. I dont know but still I have hope!!!
    Its like, if we educate people in the right direction, and get them on a single side, we can do miracles!!! Change our so called weaknesses to strengths :-)….I know its very easy to say but very difficult to implement, but its not impossible!!

    Like, one of the thoughts I get is,making our POPULATION strength!!! Even if every Indian gives 1 Rupee to something, we can collect a billion rupees!!!
    But its really sad that there are people in our country who dont even have that single rupee!!!
    ANd even if they have, there is no strong uncorrupt institute to let it happen 😦

    I did not see that one, shall watch when chance comes 🙂 thank you 😀

  13. October 27, 2008 8:31 am

    All can visit this link…. to help a hungry stomach to get some food http://www.bhookh.com

    a few seconds a day can relly help some one…

  14. October 31, 2008 9:10 am

    A very valid point here, but theres ahuge difference in fasting and feeling hungry and not having enough food and feeling hungry… but atleast if we know what they feel, we will be more compassionate towards them!! 🙂

    Blogrolling you!

  15. October 31, 2008 6:34 pm

    Thanks Sakhi 🙂

    Ya its quite different and the thought of it only made me get goosebumps!! sad aint it? 😦

Leave a Reply

