Skip to content

Mindset

October 27, 2008

Being yourself, self esteem, self-reliance, independence, selfishness – Phrases, that we hear mostly from so-called youth now-a days!!

 

Yesterday, one of my friends, who is as old as my mom working in the software industry came home for Diwali celebrations…we were chitchatting, discussing issues and commenting on certain real-life on TV etc…. She said, I don’t realise the age gap between us. …. and I smiled and said neither do I…. she continued, “your mindset and attitude is no where near the “carefree attitude of the your generation””

Well, I did not know honestly, to take it as a compliment or comment…well, as usual, taken as a compliment: -D!! Later, I was thinking about it at dinner…and this is what I felt!!  

Well, to be honest with you, I am girl with attitude that fits perfectly with 50 yr old British person!! Is it that I am not what all I told in first 2 lines?? Nah!! I am very much those lines!!

 

The above two lines are taken advantage of. …People who really don’t understand the meaning use them often…It has become an excuse, a way to get over things, a phrase to stop all arguments, a cover for everything done…something that makes the listener feel helpless, fed up!!

 

Well, do I understand them then???

 

I don’t know if this is right as perceived by others…. but this is what I believe is right!!

 

Being yourself is being what you are…it might not be right for others but it should definitely feel right for you! It is when you can answer your conscience honestly!! Its difficult but not impossible….As  ~Henri Frederic Amiel says Learn to… be what you are, and learn to resign with a good grace all that you are not.”

 Independence, is being able to take care of oneself properly…it is mental independence…. and may include financial, social etc depending on the person…being independent should give one a sense of responsibility, accountability….In other words, being responsible for one’s actions is independence!

 Self-esteem, as the word suggests is respect for oneself….we develop this automatically when the above two happen – responsibility and honesty!

 

Selfishness – as I mentioned in my previous post, that’s how I perceive it.

 

What do you think??

 

Later in the evening I felt, Am I not the proud part of the YOUTH/younger generation now?? Or Am I not feeling proud being a part of it?

 

Well, the answer I got is, I do feel proud but when someone points out I am not like a part of them – that person gives it as a compliment – which means their perception about youth is negative and I cant really argue with enough reasons/back-up. This should really change and its in our hands aint it? 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2008 12:14 pm

    Surely we must change the opinion of the previous generation on our generation and its in our hands. But I think most of us are on the right track, hoping to do something to live in a better world and they will change their perspective on us gradually.

    When I read the word selfish in this post I remembered a saying by Satguru Jakhi Sugadev:

    “Everybody must have selfishness. But it has to be bigger. Selfish on this society, Selfish on your state, Selfish on your country”. Wordings are not exact. But this is what he conveyed.

    A very happy diwali wishes to you 🙂

  2. October 28, 2008 1:35 pm

    Dear Sahaja,

    you are obviously much mroe mature than your peers. That is a common thing with a seeker 🙂 I was like that.

    Already being a child, I talked equaly to any adult – I really did not feel the difference, neither did they feel it. I had a problem in communication with my classmates, for they seemed too boring to me.

    If you have read my post on Generation S – you definitely fall under this category, read the point 4:

    http://1000petals.wordpress.com/2007/03/12/generation-s/

  3. October 28, 2008 2:44 pm

    I don’t know why people have a negative perception about the youth 😕

  4. October 28, 2008 7:03 pm

    Sahaja, nothing to worry.

    It is always a complement…even if the one who said it didn’t mean it. For it is not everyday one is told he/she is ‘mature’.

    Oh I didn’t know you were such an introvert (who actually thinks aloud 🙂

  5. October 28, 2008 8:30 pm

    Thanks all of you!!

    @ Kanagu – Well ya …most of the people are on right track or atleast thinking of these things….Hope for the best 🙂 fingers crossed!! Am actually very happy that I am getting good response for such issues on my blog!!
    And Nice quote and true….unless we say that way, many might not understand just by saying selfish! But I dont know who is the person, can you tell me?

    @ Axinia – Thanks a lot for commenting…It feels very ncie for me seeing your comments 🙂 really!! I have read the post and am happy you consider me one among you !! And in this comment, you once again gave me an answer to one of my questions which I never could put in words!!

    @ Raj — There is a lot of negative opinion about the present generation precisely because of their carefree attitude and reckless answers esp when they say “I am like this only!!” makes older gen fed up…..This is fact!! and ofcourse not all are like that but as always , bad things spread fast….I shall try and eloborate in another post 🙂

    @ swaps — Thanks swaps…….I really did not understand what you mean by saying introvert? Recently, in one of our discussions with my collegues, I came to know the actual def of introvert, which was much different from what I perceived…..I would be glad to know yours!!

  6. October 28, 2008 9:18 pm

    Sorry I mentioned the name wrongly. He is satguru jakki vasudev. A yogi who founded ISHA yoga foundation which was doing some great social works all around the country.
    Sahaja : Ya i shall see, I dont know much about Yoga actually!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  7. October 30, 2008 5:53 pm

    Its not about Yoga.. Me too don’t know about Yoga.. but his writings are very inspirational that started to follow few of the things said by him. If you find sometime read his sayings..

Leave a Reply

