Skip to content

Better late than never – Deepavali :-)

October 31, 2008

Musical Mood : Kaliki chilakala koliki

I was busy last week so could not post this on time ๐Ÿ™‚

Internet is something that makes us so near even though so far……Ya, I really felt good when my brother sent me the photos the night of Diwali ….and felt atleast better than before after talking to them on webchat ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks to google…. ๐Ÿ™‚ And here’s the photo report ๐Ÿ˜€

Deepa+ Avali = A row of Lights ๐Ÿ˜€ = Deepavali

Our Apartment lit up with lights ๐Ÿ˜€

Bhoochakram ๐Ÿ˜€

Chichu Buddi – thats what people used to call me when I was a kid ๐Ÿ˜€

Kakara povvotti ๐Ÿ˜€

These are some of the crackers I burn…..I am scared of all these lakshmi bombs etc hehe…..still I watch when my bro does!!

So thats my Deepavali :D…..My first one away from Home !!

PS: The language used is south Indian language called TELUGU my mother tongue….sweetest language I have known ๐Ÿ˜€


13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2008 6:17 am

    ๐Ÿ™‚ The deepa + avali looks great.. i always feel good when i see the earthen diya lighted up rather than the electric ones.. i am not old fashioned or something but some how it really feels great when i see the traditional ways.

    do check my bhoochakkar and anar here

    http://craftyvillage.wordpress.com
    Sahaja : Thanks Sakhi :)…….I love to keep the traditional things alive and going ……along with the trends now….Ya checked yours out….Very lively

  2. November 1, 2008 9:23 am

    Indians are so good at celebrating! – what i noticed, they love so much to use every occasion to celebrate in a joyful, friendly atmosthere..

    Russians also like to celebrate – but unfortunately, they only use is as a good excuse for exessive drinking :((
    Sahaja : Thanks Axinia……Ya, most of us love to be with friends and family and celebrate rather than being on oneself….There is problem of excessive drinking in some communities but am sure not on festivals ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. smallstar permalink
    November 1, 2008 10:39 am

    I’d love to be in India… I always say this, ’cause I really would want see how it is!! And I’d like celebrate Diwali, too! But this is not possible… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Sahaja : Come and visit smallstar….You can find so much diversity in India….definitely ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. November 1, 2008 3:33 pm

    Cool photos and lovely description! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Do you guys and gals burst crackers in the corridors and not on the terrace or on the ground ๐Ÿ˜ฏ
    Sahaja : :-)….Ya Raj, we start off with small things on corridors and slowly move to terrace for big stuff….Its actually fun coz, we children keep competition among various flats etc and it becomes very lively……I love watching fireworks standing on the terrace ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. renuka permalink
    November 2, 2008 4:04 am

    India is certainly great at celebrating festivals….and deepavali is one festival i really like because of the diyas….and i love going to the terrace and watching all the crackers…i miss india soo much …..btw, the photos are really gud…..
    Sahaja : Thanks renu darling…..fotos my bro took :)…me too miss India yaar….

  6. November 2, 2008 9:43 am

    Hi Sahaja,
    Unfortunately…I don’t know telugu ๐Ÿ˜›

    Interesting pics! I liked the anaar and chakkarginni…….I guess I don’t knw any otr name for those crackers ๐Ÿ˜›
    Sahaja : Thanq Meghna…..hehe its ok, pics say it all right ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. November 3, 2008 12:45 pm

    Its really nice to see. I stopped burning crackers some 6 years back ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Nicely photographed in night ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. smallstar permalink
    November 3, 2008 3:29 pm

    @Sahaja: ooohh… I really would want come to India….. And… Who knows if one day in future couldn’t this my dream be realized?? I am hoping… ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. November 4, 2008 4:44 pm

    Belated Happy Diwali… ๐Ÿ™‚ nice pics…telgu is indeed a sweet. i would sy a musical language..and now it is included with Kannada as the classical language(sanskrit and tamil are the other 2.)

  10. November 6, 2008 3:21 pm

    Nice pics. I noticed that it is Kodak C315 camera.
    I had a telugu friend in college and I learned a little bit from her, enough for us to hold a conversation about simple things and understand each other. But I have forgotten most of it in the past decade.

  11. November 7, 2008 8:15 am

    @ smallstar — wishing for you to visit India ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Sharad – Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ Aapko bhi Belated wishes :)…..Ya telugu is sweet and musical ๐Ÿ˜€

    @ Nomad — Welcome to my Blog :-)!!
    OMG, how did you find the camera seeing fotos????
    I am surprised and surely wanna knw how…my bro took them ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. smallstar permalink
    November 7, 2008 12:04 pm

    @Sahaja: yeah! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish the same thing…

  13. November 7, 2008 2:41 pm

    ๐Ÿ™‚ No mystery! I downloaded one pic, opened it in MS picture manager, and clicked on properties. It shows the complete settings used for the photo. I was interested because they are firecracker photos. ๐Ÿ™‚ Idhi na javaabu ni prasna kosi. (please correct me, I think the choice of words and syntax is wrong?)

Leave a Reply

