Skip to content

Is Ignorance a bliss???

November 14, 2008

Well, guess what?? I decided, now that I have very good readers (Ya I think so) who visit and read my blog….why cant I ask them opinions about certain things which I have in mind!! [What say you?]

  

My mom used to say, no still says this to me…I am still a kid, in sort of asking questions, reasons, and jumping around [which I do most of the times]…but I am inquisitive. I am lazy in everything else except knowing stuff…I am like jack of all trades [don’t want to continue the proverb ;)]…But still I am ignorant…My mom says this is genuine ignorance [now I don’t know whats that :P]… “born with” character of mine  [unlike my name – I shall say my Namesake story soon]

 

Anyways, bye to my life history …….you tell your opinions based on some experiences you might have had 😀

 

So guys and girls,

 

What do you think about this statement??

 

“Ignorance is a Bliss”

  

PS : Waiting for wise descriptions and opinions from my readers !!

 

PPS : And so more comments :P …
16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2008 10:40 pm

    Sahaja, it is an intresting statement and I think I know what you mean, but could be please specify what kind of ignorance you mean?

  2. November 14, 2008 10:53 pm

    I was expecting this question from someone…..Hmm….Actually I just wanted to know about Ignorance as in this statement!!

    My mom says genuine ignorance — she means ….like she says I know stuff and all, but I believe everyone and everything…..since I am ignorant 😦

  3. November 15, 2008 2:50 am

    I don’t know 😐 I’m kind of ignorant too 😦

  4. November 15, 2008 8:02 am

    hee…he… :0 i liked the way you said, i am jack of everything and … i dont want to continue the proverb! 😀 😀

    And ignorance is bliss only when you want to be like an ostrich, you think that everything is fine since you cant see it!!

  5. November 15, 2008 8:39 am

    thanq thanq hehe……you know i still dint master stuff, but its not end na, i will be improving so said that hehe….

    May be Ya, thats a very very near expression, hmm…..thanks 🙂

  6. November 15, 2008 9:31 am

    Sahaja, when you find yourself learning more about something but still cant figure out what it is or are confused and unable to make up your mind any which way, this expression comes in handy. If you stop seeking information or the truth taking refuge in “ignorance is bliss” stand, then you are behaving like an ostrich as Sakhi commented.
    The blissful existence of childhood ignorance is what one has in mind not the “ignoramus” who learns nothing as he grows!
    Good question, btw!

  7. November 15, 2008 9:44 am

    ” The blissful existence of childhood ignorance is what one has in mind not the “ignoramus” who learns nothing as he grows! ”

    Thats perfect Sir :-)…….this is the way I see it…..I mean, for me ignorance is a bliss is used when its better off not knowing certain things that are not needed :D….

    Welcome to my blog 🙂

  8. November 15, 2008 11:21 pm

    “its better off not knowing certain things that are not needed :” – that way I also agree!

  9. November 16, 2008 2:23 pm

    ignorance is bliss..very true… no point in makin things more complicated when there is an easy slution to everything….which can b found only when u can c it.. n only d ignorant can c…

  10. November 17, 2008 10:44 am

    Ignorance is bliss..depends on what are you ignoring 🙂 😛

  11. November 17, 2008 6:11 pm

    Ignorance is bliss, but the ignorant person lives in a ‘fool’s paradise’! I personally, prefer the truth, no matter how hurtful, strange or devastating.
    Sahaja : Hmm….So your version of ignorance is “not knowing truth”
    Nice input…..thankuu…

  12. November 17, 2008 8:16 pm

    Sharad has said it well.. it depends.. Now-a-days I don’t want to be ignorant.. I am trying to change this character of me.. It’s really hard.
    Sahaja : true I agree, it depends….:-)…I guess knowing things dont do any harm…but half knowledge is dangerous……dont worry Kanagu, change happens and you wont even realise just as in my case 🙂 best wishes 😀

  13. November 18, 2008 8:25 am

    Hi Sahaja,
    i am impressed by the way you choose the topic and present it. you are really wise and blessed. The “Genuine ignaorance” that your mother means might be your pure innocence, child like. Lord Ganesha is termed the eternal child who personifies innocence though he is highly wise and knowledgeful, i can see that character in you too.

    Not all times but ignorance is a bliss in certain circumstances. better we are ignorant of the vices, bad elements, bad knowledge etc. this is my view though i am not that cognizant.

    Sahaja : Ohh thanku so much 😀 ….And about Ganesha, I never knew this…Thanks so much for those wise words, indeed he is an eternal child with innocence yet with knowledge !!!
    Ya….Ignorance is bliss when you consider it in a situation where, one doesnt need to know as you said :)…

  14. November 18, 2008 4:10 pm

    🙂 Now that you pointed it out, I noticed that I equate knowledge with truth! Well, it is true, I realized that I do tend to think of knowing something as being aware of the truth, and finding out some truths as gaining knowledge! 🙂

  15. November 18, 2008 9:26 pm

    thanks Sahaja 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Rain Rain Go Away !! « Smile…..an everlasting smile…..

Leave a Reply

