Skip to content

Rain Rain Go Away !!

November 18, 2008

Almost all the people reading this post would know the rhyme in the title….
Ya, the rhymes class in kindergarten ooohh…..jumping and dancing showing everyone who comes home that I have a lovely voice see, I can sing and dance 😀 as if that’s the greatest achievement in the world (genuinely ignorant – as in my last post –of all wonders of world)!!
 
 
As I child, I used go jump in the rain outside (when my mom was not at home and to the horror of my grandmom), when it rained shouting this rhyme…..hehe now I am laughing out loud on myself….little did I understand the meaning of it…I just loved the tune 😀
 
Uff…. cant help telling my life history can I 😛 ? Coming back to the post…
 
Ever wondered where it came from?? I never wondered 😉
But recently I realised where it could have possibly come from….
 
Common, no kid (or even adult)  in India would ever want the rain to go away ..do you agree??
 
Its here in UK, all through the year its more or less damp….every morning you get up , look out through your window and see if its raining or not…. Well, you cant even be more glad if it does not rain in morning when you are getting out of your home, by the time you reach your destination, it might be pouring down….Ahh well…so is English weather … Its either sunny and wet or gloomy and damp…[ohh its not that sad as well, am just generalising a bit 😉 ]….those small shots of sunny weather in summer makes you feel like going out and dance (just as we in India jump in rain)!
 
I hate umbrellas….I prefer getting drenched you see….my mom always used to tease me saying you will go to such a place where you would fall for umbrella…and see it came true…Arghhhhhh 😡 ….. what is this yaar?? Now I carry  an umbrella, wear a rain proof jacket all the time 😦
 
So, little John wants the rain to go away so that he can go to his yard and play under the sun (if its there) or play in his dry yard even when its cloudy!!
 
Rain Rain go away come again other day!
Little Johnny wants to play  !!!
Rain Rain go to Spain,
And never come  here again !! [as I gather english envy the spanish climate since its sunny and tans them 😛 ]

[But still I love rain 😀  ]

 
PS: And the most sad part for me is, even though its raining all the time, it never smells of the rain….do you get what I mean?? I miss the scent of soil of my country 😦  …
7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2008 9:24 pm

    I am also don’t like taking umbrella with me. When I see somebody holding umbrella to protect them, I will feel for them for missing the best thing in life. It’s a joy. My mom too used to tell that don’t get wet. Wait and come. What is the point in staying inside when heaven is pouring on you outside? It’s a gift of nature. I love it 🙂
    Me : Thanks Kanagu…..I love bheegofying (hinglish :P) in rain 😀

  2. November 19, 2008 4:04 am

    I love the rain as well 😛 It plays a huge part in bringing down the temperature of my city 🙂 And the water supply depends on the monsoon 😐 No Chennai kid will ever say “Rain, rain, go away”

    But it’s a cool song, check this out:

    http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=c3v0rJqyCTM

    😛

  3. November 19, 2008 10:51 am

    well well.. nice one.. here in chennai.. i dunno wat to say abt rain.. i think u understand wat im speakin of..if it rains here i dunno if ill even dare to think of dat song..

  4. November 19, 2008 11:35 am

    I absolutely get what you mean! yesterday it rained here ( unseasonal one! ) but the smell was soooo…hun… yummy!! 😀 yes, yummy!

    And thanks for the explanation (or your understanding of it!) , now i will be able to tell the reason behind such a useless rhyme to my daughter!! 🙂 😀

  5. November 19, 2008 2:15 pm

    ahh I love rains too… it hides my tears 🙂 🙂

    Chk my poem

    http://nonsense123.wordpress.com/2008/06/11/in-the-rain/

  6. renuka permalink
    November 21, 2008 12:21 am

    i love rain…but the best part is the smell from the soil…i understand what u r missing 😦

  7. Breale permalink
    January 22, 2009 7:46 pm

    I love the rain so much. I smell. the sight of the glommy sky. Everything is green and looks like it’s relaxing. I feel at home drinking hot tea. Watching a movie with my husband. or mom and sisters..

Leave a Reply

