Skip to content

Happy Sankranthi

January 13, 2009

Happy Pongal to all my readers!!

Well, I thought since many of my readers are from North India, [I recently came to know that its not celebrated in northern states] I shall tell what I know of this amazing festival.

We celebrate it for 3 days – marking the harvest season of crops and sun entering Makara raasi

1st day – Bhogi – We celebrate by starting the day with campfire, which we call as BHOGI MANTA – I remember we used to compete on whose fire rose highest and stood alive for longest time! ….The whole year, we kids used to collect all useless from our own house/grandmom’s house and store them so that we have more chance of keeping it alive! After the bonfire, we take head bath , have pongal as breakfast after doing pooja…and then we used to get a chance to go to friends place to distrbute prasadam. In the evening, we do a small ritual with kids in the house pouring and giving BHOGI PALLU – which are a mixture of regi pallu [sour sweet berries] and mamaralu [puffed rice] etc….Umm…I love regi pallu! 

pongal03

2nd Day – MAKARA SANKRANTHI – The main festival – we call in Telugu as “PEDDA PANDAGA” – it marks the harvesting season of crops …..its called MAKARA SANKRANTHI because this day, sun steps into capricon…and it does signify astronomically that from this day, SUN beams out and summer begins!! We celebrate sankranthi , saying thanks and paying our respects to all that gave us food – from bullocks to SUN GOD everything that  helps the farmer get his harvest! Historically, Farmers used to celebrate this festival and others used to join them in celebration! One of the unique events we observe would be GANGIREDDU – BASAVANNA – as we call in TELUGU – WELL CLAD BULLOCKS!! We cook wide variety of dishes using maximum of the pulses/grains we get . We also collect and worship – NAVADHANYALU – the nine grains that are considered sacred!! 

gangireddu2

3rd Day – KANUMA – Whenever I ask my mom about what is this festival about and why we celebrate , she always says – this is for business people – they pray to God to bless them with success in their respective businesses. On this day also, there will be a wide display of BASAVANNA and GANGIREDDUs and also HARIKATHA Nayakulu  People give grains/pulses/rice to the owner of the cow/bullock in return and ask for blessings….the more u give, the more u get is the philosophy behind it!

It always fascinates me, when I look back to try and understand the true meaning and origin of these festivals…..everything was started just so rightly!! Perfect and Logical even….We celebrate everything and everyone’s happiness………haina? Who said, In India we dont see dignity of labour?? Each inch of our tradition has it…we just not respect dignity of labour , WE CELEBRATE IT EVEN!! 

Sad thing is everything is so damn distorted that we are failing to see this directly……are we losing ourselves in wild goose chase??

anyways thats a whole new discussion I suppose….

well, I Love India and I Love the way I am!! I am a proud to be Indian and want to be a responsible INDIAN!!

HAPPY SANKRANTHI AND MAY YOUR LIFES BE FILLED WITH JOY N SUCCESS!!

noname

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Ankur Pahuja permalink
    January 13, 2009 10:38 pm

    Arre Ramya…I didn’t know Pongal is the same as Makar Sakranthi.

    So, we also celebrate the same festival with a different name, ‘Lohri’, which is the first day you described. Almost similar, we burn bonfire at night and put in it groundnuts symbolic of offering the first fruits of harvest to Gods.

    The next day is celebrated as Makar Sakranthi. And the memories I have of this is that, I am being woken up early on the chilly winter morning by Mom, being asked to take bath and the first thing given to eat was like, a little bit of heeng sandwiched in a spoon of butter. That tasted aweful – in fact, I used to be afraid of this Makar Sakranthi….bachpan mein I used to think of it a monstrous festival where I will be forcibly made to gulp down that heeng-butter combination.

    I had forgotten what this festival was all about….used to write essays in school but now only the faint memories remain. Thanks for freshening up those memories through your description of Pongal.
    Me: Thanks Ankur 🙂 Welcome to my blog and am glad it made you smile 🙂 …Hope 2 c u more here 😀

  2. January 14, 2009 4:57 am

    Am a north Indian and we do celebrate this day but we call it Makar Sakranti & Khicchdi 🙂

    And yes u r right each of our festivals & rituals have a logic behind them 🙂 we are too busy critcising them to realise the joy behind them 🙂

    Happy Pongal…
    Me: Thanks smita!! I should learn to make kicchdi in north indian style 🙂

  3. kk05zz permalink
    January 14, 2009 6:13 am

    Maa bothi vaalakosam…bahu baaga vishlesinchaaru…chaala baaga wrasaaru…

    Meeru renditini vadilesaaru…Bhogi roju default breakfast..Chikinu(Chicken kurma)mariyu Dosee(Dosa)(typical Nellore yaasa lendi 😛 )and inkoti Ariselu…
    Me: memu veggie andi…so avi ravu…inka dosalantara, roju undeve kada ani rayaledante….arisalu matram marchipoyanandoi!!

  4. January 14, 2009 9:28 am

    Happy Sankrant to you!
    Me: thanks so much Nita and wish you the same

  5. January 14, 2009 1:07 pm

    Happy Pongal/ Makar Sankranti, Sahaja!

    This day signifies the transition from Darkness to Light.

    May this day bring Light and joy to our lives!
    Me : thats such a lovely wish Manju…….Thanks so much and wish you the same

  6. January 14, 2009 8:29 pm

    Had a great day with kites . 😀

    Happy Sankranthi to you too . 🙂

    Me: I miss the kites here! Thanks for wishes 🙂

  7. January 14, 2009 9:25 pm

    Happy Pongal/ Makara Sankranthi!!! 🙂

    I didn’t know that cattle are decorated on the same Pongal day in A.P. We have a separate day for cattle called Mattu Pongal 🙂
    Me: Ya read in kanagu’s post! isnt it wonderful how within just miles distances things vary a lot….may b this is called diversity! and its good 🙂

  8. January 15, 2009 6:17 am

    Same to you 🙂 Have a nice time. Nice blog.
    Me: Welcome Dinesh! Thanks 🙂 hope to c u more

  9. January 15, 2009 10:01 am

    hey so niice to know about the tradition in detail..kanagu has his version as well

    “Who said, In India we dont see dignity of labour?? Each inch of our tradition has it…we just not respect dignity of labour , WE CELEBRATE IT EVEN!! ” – cant agree more – just loved the way you put it
    Me: thanks verbi, ur comments always seem so lively and striaght from heart and they make me smile 🙂 …Keep visiting 😀

  10. January 15, 2009 3:02 pm

    Happy Lohri, Makar Sakrant, Pongal to you and all your readers.
    Me: Thanks Prerna! Wish you the same 🙂

  11. January 16, 2009 8:54 am

    First time here, I guess. Happy Sankranti and Pongal to you!
    Hi Solilo, Thanks for the wishes… Welcome to my blog and do check my previous entries too 🙂 …. Hope 2 c u more here 😉

  12. Krishna Kumar permalink
    January 16, 2009 3:41 pm

    My new blog called as ‘P’log..

    http://kksinstinct.wordpress.com/

    check that out and put your valuable feedback

    Thank you!
    Me: SHall check out soon 🙂 U have been tagged btw

  13. January 19, 2009 4:28 pm

    You have explained the things in a nice.. I love these festival as it brings some joy to the always suffering farmer’s life.. and also when I read the KANUMA I have thought it as a KAANUM pongal.. but it’s different 🙂
    I will say I am lucky to born in India 🙂
    Me : I really dont know how we celebrate Kanuma, my mom says its mainly celebrated by business men..may b its the same! Even I feel soooooooo lucky to be Indian….Its one country but many worlds!

Leave a Reply

