Skip to content

Happy Republic Day!

January 25, 2009

I remember the days in school, where we used to prepare so many skits/songs/dances and drill to be on republic day! White dress, white shoes…march fast….aww…I dont know about u guys, but I used to feel verrrry good and responsible!! 

I remember how I used to get glued to DD I to see the Parade!!! I used to loveeeee them!

I really dont know after schools who does this? may be no one! or may be associations of aptmts etc….but ya there is a logic for that!  While we are kids , if we are told such things it registers in our mind!! and later generally we dont need to such things to remind ourselves! well dont know how much its working though !!

I am glad I am Indian! and of a Republic India! I am proud to be a part of a country which is ONE country but different worlds!! 100 miles out of your place, and soooo much is different!! U find everything and anything in my country! From style to flavour….from slums to gardens…..from blind superstitions to incredible intelligents! everything! What a variety! What a lively life! 

Mother India, everything about You fascinates me, leaves me in awe!  Makes me wonder how much I am Your child!! 

You are my first medium of education…..You are my first appreciation of Nature….You are my first understanding of Physics………You are my first inspiration ! 

Its only after I landed on a different face of Nature , that I realised how much I belong to YOU!! 

I am proud to be your child and I always hope to live up to the name!! 

Do you remember Saare Jahan se accha?? Did you know the author ? Ya when I was at school, I was told – its Mohammad Iqbal! Never did I feel the name foreign! Urdu is one of my favorite language….its sooooo musical!!

May be thats why I love Javed akhthar’s lyrics [eg. Maula Mere ] Thats one of the very few languages wherein every feeling you want to express has a beautiful word associated with it!! I dont know may be its developed to express feelings……one of those languages which I hold clooose to heart!!

Urdu I bow to you!

dont believe? let me reveal its beauties here –

sāre jahān se acchā hindostān hamārā

ham bulbulain hai is ki, yeh gulsitān hamārā

// Of all the places, Our Hindusthan is the best..

// We are the little birds chirping mirth, and its our garden abode!

ghurbat men hon agar ham, rahta hai dil vatan men

samjho vahīn hamen bhī, dil hain jahān hamārā

// Even if we are in foreign lands, our heart always lies with this Homeland!

// And regard, where the heart lies, there we reside!

parbat voh sab se ūnchā, hamsāya āsmān ka

voh santari hamārā, voh pāsbān hamārā

// That mountain is so high, its neighbour to the sky!

// Its our sentinel and our protector!

godi men kheltī hain is ki hazāron nadiyā

gulshan hai jin ke dam se, rashk-e-janān hamārā

// In the lap of Her play thousands of rivers,

// where gardens sustain, the envy-of-the-heavens of ours!

aye āb, raud, ganga, voh din hen yād tujhko

utarā tere kināre, jab kārvān hamārā

// Ohh Water of Ganga, Do you remember that day

// When on the banks of you, we landed?

maz’hab nahīn sikhātā āpas men bayr rakhnā

hindvi hai ham, vatan hai hindostān hamārā

// Religion does not teach us to harbour grudges,

// We are all Indians and This land is our Motherland! 

yūnān-o-misr-o-romā, sab miṭ gaye jahān se

ab tak magar hai bāqi, nām-o-nishān hamārā

// Rome , Italy and such kingdomes, perished [during test of life]

// But we still are there here, this civilisation of ours! [stood the test of life]

kuch bāt hai keh hastī, miṭati nahīn hamārī

sadiyon rahā hai dushman, daur-e-zamān hamārā

// There is something in this land, that kept us together , from our entity being eroded!

// For ages , has been our enemy, this way of world!

iqbal ko’ī meharam, apnā nahīn jahān men

m’alūm kya kisī ko, dard-e-nihān hamārā

// Iqbal, is there no soul that could understand

// the pain in my heart?

You can listen to it here –

Update : Waise, Hindusthan here means may be from kabul to Burma….vast land, variety of cultures…..different faces, different people! Whoa!

And here is an ad I saw in British Airways Flight ! – INCREDIBLE INDIA!


25 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2009 8:34 pm

    Beautiful post !!

    Urdu is an integral part of the republic of India. India isnt the same country without it, is it ??

    Happy Republic Day !!

  2. Krishna Kumar permalink
    January 26, 2009 3:08 am

    In school days,i go to school to see our Indian flag hoisting..after school,college…and after these things get away,..i would again go to school..to smell my past,to see my teachers and to speak with my principal…Yay,i’m going to my school today… 🙂 Nostalgia a great feeling 😉

  3. January 26, 2009 5:27 am

    Linked this post to mine on Republic Day today 🙂 A very Happy 26th Jan to you …
    … aren’t we lucky we are born today!!

  4. January 26, 2009 5:29 am

    Happy Republic Day ! Jai Hind!

  5. January 26, 2009 6:09 am

    an informative post sahaja. i think urdu is a very beautiful,sophisticated language. did u translate saare jahan se acche urself?

  6. January 26, 2009 7:54 am

    I miss those school days 😦

    Happy Republic Day! Jai Ho!

  7. January 26, 2009 8:16 am

    Lovely post from deep within your heart, Sahaja! Wish you Happy Republic Day!

  8. January 26, 2009 8:23 am

    Very nice post Sahaja:-) very informative. Happy republic day. Jai Hind

  9. Sailaja permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:44 am

    Nice post Sahaja. I was expecting this from you. yea when you said after school and college we do not take that much interest in attending the flag hoisting., it’s exactly the fact. ofcourse gali gali mein as in Hyd streets u see every nook and corner a flag is set up to be hoisted with the photos of their party leaders, and only political leaders take this opprtunity and how many civilians are really interested patriotically? i feel we in India take everything for granted. we only studied about the independence movement in our school books and now that we are enjoying the independence we are not at all grateful and patriotic (except a few like u & me ofcourse). we all should make it a point still to watch the republic day parade every year. i like this song sare jaha se acha very much.

  10. January 26, 2009 10:22 am

    Happy Independence Day, Sahaja!

    May your infectious enthusiasm stay this way always!

    Wonderful song- Saare Jahan se Accha…

  11. varunavi permalink
    January 26, 2009 2:22 pm

    Wonderful post sahaja, made me recollect my school days, how i used to run from the school to watch parade on tv

    Happy republic day

  12. January 26, 2009 4:36 pm

    A lovely republic day post! Happy RDay to you Sahaja!

  13. January 26, 2009 10:22 pm

    @Dhiren – Thanks so much!! True…..it isnt same country!

    @ KK – U r soooo luckyy!! Have a nice time!

    @ IHM – Sure sure, we are very lucky to be born in this generation!

    @ Reema – Thanks Reema Jai Hindi!

    @ churningthewordmill – Thanks so much! I love Urdu so I try understanding….this one, almost by me, for 2 words I had to look up in dictionary!
    Ya it is a very developed side of languages and very musical!

  14. January 26, 2009 10:30 pm

    @ Soilio – Jai Hind 🙂 I miss them too!

    @ Gopinath – Thanks Gopinath! Wish you the same!

    @ Kanagu – Thanks 🙂

    @ Sailaja aunty – True…..actually na aunty, we cant even point at people that its a mistake…coz may b its in human nature that unless u find something worse, u dont value what u have!!

    @ Manju – That was soo sweet Manju…I am smiling 🙂

    @ Varunavi – Thanks 🙂 Wish you the same 😀

    @ Nita – Thanks Nita 🙂 happy Republic Day!

  15. Vinay permalink
    January 26, 2009 11:19 pm

    HAPPY REPUBLIC DAY 🙂

  16. January 27, 2009 12:10 pm

    Actually you have 2 similar celebrations – Independance Day and Republic day, right?

    But knowing how Indians love to celebrate – no wonder 🙂

    Lovely post, my dear!

  17. January 27, 2009 5:56 pm

    “Urdu I bow to you!”

    I too. Just love Urdu.
    Heard of http://www.ebasm.com?

    You know, after the Nov incident I decided I won’t watch the parade…but I did, old habits die hard.

    And, Sahaj, you got company…we too prepared for the Republic Day celebrations exactly like you have described, those lovely days 🙂

  18. January 27, 2009 6:15 pm

    Sahaja, it is incredible that the founder of two-nation theory once penned these beautiful lines. Just incredible.

  19. January 27, 2009 7:33 pm

    I must say, Iqbal, apka jawab nahin!

  20. January 27, 2009 8:59 pm

    the poem is very beautiful and sencere…I love Iqbal`s poetry and I also posted some of it before…

    Patritos is a great thing, and really necessary – but the next step is to become the global person, to go beyond the nationality – and that is what you have explained so beautifully in your post “I am overwhelmed!!” 🙂

    keep it up, girl!

  21. January 27, 2009 9:39 pm

    @ Vinay – Thanks and wish you the same 🙂 Keep the comments coming 😀 when u have time !

    @ Axinia – Whoa….I am glad …Thankoooo…
    true we have 2 days celebrating freedom ! Independence Day – the day East India Company left the land completely!! 15th aug !
    26th Jan is when India became a Republic – the day we had our own constitution and declared as Republic of India!!

    True…..it should extend globally!! You know what?? I feel, love towards to homeland is natural …..just like we love our home…thereby love our hometown….homestate…homecountry!!….may be because, we have sweet memories interlinked to it!!

    @ Swaps – I guess, u r lost in the poem! Its indeed incredible!! I was lost in it too!
    I am feeling honoured [dont knw why 😉 ]
    I dont knw abt the site but wud see it!

  22. January 28, 2009 3:37 am

    Wonderful post Sahaja, I too like thhe song very much.

  23. January 28, 2009 6:44 am

    @ Thanks Ramya 🙂

  24. renuka permalink
    January 28, 2009 8:01 pm

    I am feeling soooo nostalgic….26 january was so special naa….as children it meant a holiday and of course preparation for the parade, watching on tv, flag hoisting ….though as children i never understood the real meaning of the day…now i realise the importance….the real meaning….
    and regarding urdu…a very poetic language….beautiful meanings of words….i love urdu tooo….
    felt really gud reading the post 🙂
    Me: Thanks renu 🙂

  25. renuka permalink
    January 28, 2009 8:02 pm

    forgot 2 add..the signature looks really gud 🙂
    Me: Thanks so much 🙂 I knew u wud love it 😛

Leave a Reply

