Skip to content

Patriotism!

January 27, 2009

Musical Mood : Rang de Basanti

What is Patriotism?

Verbally – Dictionary meaning is –  love for or devotion to one’s country!!

Origin – From Latin – Patria and from Greek – Patritha!

Interpretation – Synonymously used for nationalism! 

What does it mean to me?
 Well, to be honest with you, As I said in my previous post I love my country! Am I Patriotic? Yes 100%….
but at the same time, I consider myself a global citizen! I am not in my country now….Did not leave it definitely but am away!
When I went home in december, one of my friend said, its only because u earn a lot u went there!
Believe me or not, I never thought like that! It never occured to me that its money that mattered! To me, I came coz my job demanded it! and I continued in the job coz I loved it! When I said that, he said, Oooooh…..ya you are not takin salary na? that was soo sarcasic that even I noticed it [i generally am incapable of noticing and enjoying sarcasm!]
Yet I say I am Patriotic! And I respect Patriotism! Na…Not in the sense its been abused today! [I choose abuse coz i felt mis use is an understatement!]
How? 
Let me ask you, U love your home right? Why? Coz you were born and brought up there, Your parents and loved ones are around! 
In the same way, U love the city/town you are born in ….right? coz you went to school , made friends and celebrated many new years!
So, you love your state and so country!  and to me thats Patriotism!! 
When you love something, you respect it and protect it! thats Patriortism!!
Its an extended or extrapolation of love you have towards your home!
This doesnt back me off being a World Citizen! I love Chester now, I enjoy being in where I am…but that doesnt mean I am not patriotic enough! Or does it??

The same way, just like you feel about your country, every other person from different countries do feel the same! Isnt it natural? Ya….But many of us are failing to notice this!
If each of us in the world, realise and recognise this simple fact, would there be fights??
But may be its impossible!! even if one whole country succeeds in realising this, if its neighbour doesnt, then what can we do about it? I dont know!  😦
PS : As someone said aptly, things which are obvious are left unnoticed! 😦 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 3:24 am

    yes you are right, no matter where we are, we always love our Country. Its our land, its our destiny, it gave us life, taught us the life.

  2. January 28, 2009 5:39 am

    True, all of us have an attachment to the country one is from, unless something really bad has happened. Even then I think some feelings are left. However suppose the time comes and you have to choose the citizenship of the country you live in and the country you are from, which would you choose?

  3. January 28, 2009 6:49 am

    @ Ramya – Very true!

    @ Nita – If such a choice has to be made, and we have the full freedom of making the choice [by this mean , husband/wife not job!] may be we would choose that place where our family is…..by this I mean, parents or close relatives!
    It really doest matter whether its a foreign country if you feel comfortable staying there.!
    To me, if I had to made…..I would def come back home, coz somehow, though I love this place, It does make me feel foreign!

  4. January 28, 2009 8:00 am

    Just like you become fond of the family you marry to likewise you love your birth country and the country which hosts you the same way. It doesn’t make you any less patriotic. There are many who stay in the country and do nothing.
    Me: Thats a very nice way of putting Mandira….may b coz i am unmarried i cud not catch that before! thanks for addition 🙂 ….

  5. January 28, 2009 9:28 am

    patriotism is a very strong emotion, it is also a very personal one. whether i lived in india or not, i would always love my country and i will also try to make watever contribution i could to her.
    Me: Ya its very personal emotion and i feel politicians misuse it or rather abuse it! 😦

  6. January 28, 2009 10:29 am

    “The same way, just like you feel about your country, every other person from different countries do feel the same! Isnt it natural? Ya….But many of us are failing to notice this!” -that is the gem, Sahaja!!

    It is a very innoncet and deep understanding that you have got on this topic, I am proud of you!
    Me: Axinia….I should admit here, U are the only person who could feel it exactly the way I said it!!! I loved that line too! And I am really proud to get such a comment from you 🙂

  7. January 28, 2009 10:48 am

    Well for me India means a lot…so does the world…and so does my state and so does my city….yet I try not to be emotional and be affected by rhetorics or euphemisms…I try to be more secular even though I tend to hate the elements which disturb the very balance…
    Me: Thats a great attitude Visesh! yet again i am glad I am getting comments from you! as Nita said, u r one of those commentators seeing whose comment i wud feel glad!

  8. varunavi permalink
    January 28, 2009 12:15 pm

    Well said sahaja.I came out of the country for greener pastures.Sometimes i wonder why i came out.I miss my country,my people and my home there.
    If we are not staying in the country it doesnt mean that we are not patriotic
    Me: True…guess everyone has those moments…..to me, whether its bangalore or chester its the same coz home is hyd! and each is 10hrs away [though one by land and one by air!] and thanks!

  9. January 28, 2009 5:33 pm

    P a t r i o t i s m….hum, I think it is the most hackneyed of all cliches.

    I go by a simple definition given by Gen. de Gaulle :
    “Nationalism is the hatred for others, patriotism is love for ones own people”.

    I believe it is either one of them, never both or a little of this and that.

    May be our patriotism will be tested one day.
    Me : Swaps…nice quote! Well, its not about getting tested….if u have the feeling, u wont feel it as a test…it would be spontaneous reaction to the situation if arises…[god forbid!] ….anyways thats just what i feel !

  10. renuka permalink
    January 28, 2009 8:05 pm

    a very good point and very true tooo….
    Me: thanks Renu!

  11. January 28, 2009 8:20 pm

    I understand your feeling very well.
    I remember once I met a relative of mine from my grandfather’s ancestral village for the first time when I was in my twenties. Now, I am the third generation of my family living out of West Bengal. So he was talking to me and he implied that I was ungrateful, unpatriotic and selfish to be serving a state other than WB (as a doctor) when I should be drawn to my home state (!!!) and serve the poor people of my great grandpa’s state. I replied that I am quite happy serving the poor people I have grown up with and I think they are important too!
    So when people want to imply you are unpatriotic, they can do so in a variety of ways, not just because you are living out of your country. And I wonder what many of them are doing that is particularly patriotic other than living in the place they grew up in! Job had taken my grandpa away from his state, studies has taken us away from our country. That does not change who you are and what you can do for your people and society and the world.
    Me: Thanks Nomad….very valid point …the last line says it all!

  12. January 29, 2009 12:12 pm

    Sahaja, one can understand the love for the country of one’s origin. It is but natural. The feeling gets accentuated by separation from it for reasons of employment/ occupational/ academic. You dont become less patriotic by leaving it just as you dont become more patriotic by not leaving it! But you do become less patriotic when you put your selfish goals before the progress of your nation and further your interests irrespective of the harm that is caused to other citizens of the country. Putting the nations interest above one’s own is rare, it is rarely found in politicians. It is largely found in those that serve our army, the scientists who worked for the Chandrayaan have truly demonstrated high degree of patriotism by committing to the project. There are many industries being set up in the country and each and every one is doing their best by working hard so that the image of their company in the world is held high and more jobs are created in your country. There are lots of things one can do if you are patriotic. but even doing a good job of whatever you are doing is enough!
    Me: Thats absolutely true Gopinath!!! Its not about being more patriotic or less patriotic!! Its about the feeling of “APNAPAN” and it should come from hearts within!! Its about respecting what one has and what one can do!! Its about not being rude!! Very well said Gopinath! I am happy to know such nice wise men like you! Simply, Patriotism is in doing everything you do in a just way …and not hurting others…be it neighbouring families/neighbouring countries!

  13. January 29, 2009 12:15 pm

    Sahaja, you can be patriotic even in another country by working hard, doing extraordinarily well and being proud to be an Indian – our country’s image will get a huge boost and Indians will be looked up to with respect!
    Me: Thanks sooo much Gopinath!!! These words are very true and very valuable to me!

  14. Krishna Kumar permalink
    January 29, 2009 12:47 pm

    Nice one..actually while i was reading this post,i was searching something to contradict you..but u couldn’t fine any.. 😉

    btw..i’ve updated my ‘P’log..have a look and put ur viluvaina comments.. 😉
    Me: Hmm so u r my Mr Critic…well Thanks 🙂 I shall visit soon 🙂

  15. January 29, 2009 2:32 pm

    Wow awesome post.
    Me: Thanks Lubna 🙂 Keep visiting would love to listen to your comments!

  16. January 29, 2009 6:21 pm

    I think in today’s globalised world, there’s no place for patriotism, except in team sport.
    Me: Welcome here 🙂 and well, true…its about how well are you concerned about something that gave you everything you have!

  17. January 29, 2009 7:20 pm

    Very truly said Sahaja…. nicely put by you. I agree that when our job demands we have to go. But I feel really bad about the people who stay in foreign countries for their own good. What more hurts me is they talk about patriotism and all other stuff and they try to justify it
    Me: Well, thats the whole point! Its not something u wud want to justify! thats why when my friend said that, though i did feel a bit bad…i dint answer him back! Silence is the best answer!

  18. January 30, 2009 12:40 pm

    Very nice post Sahaja!:)

    This is a difficult question, particularly if conflict arises between the country of birth and country of residence (Not likely in your case).

    You have discussed it in a very mature way.
    Me: Thanks so much Manju!! Ghar wahi hai jahan Apne hote hai! isnt that true to evryone?

  19. January 31, 2009 6:13 am

    There is one strange thing that I notice with the people returning, especially from the United States – They seem more interested in telling us how bad India is, when you would love to know how good the United States is! The pain increases even more, when this is said by a dear friend!

    But you are right when you said that Bangalore or Chester, it is equally distant. But I am luckier than you – I go to Chennai much more often than you can go to your place 🙂

    I should add one more thing here, there are certain circumstances which which life creates to disconnect you from your home city, even though you were born and brought up there. But your perspective changes as soon as you start living somewhere else. How relative, things are!!

    Destination Infinity

  20. Krishna Kumar permalink
    January 31, 2009 9:21 am

    Nenu raasina commet raaseppudu tooguto raase 😛 last sentence lo neneu cheppalanukunndi ide

    but i couldn’t find any 😀
    its okie ya!! U can be my critic then too 🙂 I would be glad 😀

  21. January 31, 2009 2:18 pm

    I am not saying you Sahaja… you should have justified. Because our jobs demands us to go. Whereas getting the citizenship of that country and staying till our life are not the part of the job. As DI has said people returning from US will just say how bad India is. But they never ever suggest a way to improve the things here and fly back there again, this time with their family. Even my cousin went there with this intention. I dont like that. You are getting scholarship and quota for your education here and then earning, spending and paying taxes for welfare of another country 😦

  22. January 31, 2009 3:11 pm

    Its all about the feeling u have in your heart. For example suppose I don’t attend Independence Day celebration at my work place, I am still lot more patriotic than those who spit on roads or throw garbage here and there or take bribes!!

Leave a Reply

