Skip to content

A Roman City in England!

March 14, 2009

Guess where I am going to take you now??? To my place….Chester!! I personally love this place coz its calm and nice but very centrally located to go if you want shor and happening spots!

Why did I say Roman city? Let me give you a bit of history, [since many of you might nt know unlike other cities i have posted about!]

It is one of the ancient cities of England and was first conquered by ancient romans…..The city is still walled by the famous Chester Wall and is guarded by Roman Warriors as they say! [One of my collegue even tried scaring me saying bhoots exist roaming around guarding the city!]

Whats it famous for – A major retirement location, famous for dairy – milk, butter, icecreams etc, classic white city!!

Where is it located – just into North Wales, like a unmarked border between North Wales and England! Equally distant from liverpool and Manchester – Situated geographically in so called NORTH WEST region of UK and just missed the Scout accent! Phew!

How is it like? – Tourism wise, every summer, you find most people merry making in and around chester! Mainly families with kids or older generation come here because of locality and type of city! Its not a too happening place so negligable youth!

To West side, there are North Wales Mountains, infact from my flat I could see the snowcapped Snowdonia!

There is a river running across the city [Swaps, do you remember my riverside Swans?] called the RIVER DEE [ya its D ๐Ÿ˜› ] …..There is a forest called Delamere forest with good vegetation and no threat….people do their running and weekend monkey jumping there :P!

To the south east abt an hr is Manchester….and to north its Liverpool! Ideally located for people like me ๐Ÿ˜› to sneak out in weekends!ย 

Guys, ManU stadium is just half hr drive from my house and so is Old Trafford Cricket stadium.ย 

Major Industries – Well, Refinery, Aerospace, Materials and Doctors!! Ya huge number of good docs! Banks as well…but 2 of them got taken over recently [recession ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ]

And here is the picture report my dear readers ๐Ÿ˜€ Hope you enjoy!

chester-city-siteseeing-010908

  • This picture shows you the main attractions of the city – racecourse,mueseum and the City Walls!!

pictures

  • The black and white building is the oldest in chester may be 200yrs old….its now remodelled inside to a shop and a restaurant but the structure was not changed ! The second one in the pic is the view of sky from my flat….isnt it amazing?As you can make out, there is a church and in the next photo you would see the river!

collages

  • Now thats the best part, the riverside where I go for walks, and the park which is always a treat to eyes and ears because of little angels and old grannys ….and also these beautiful flowers all around! The last photo is one of the plays they were doing in summer…..if you read THIS post of mine, this is what I was talking about!

And finally for some pics of my new house! Here you go! Lounge with open plan kitchen and how neat did I keep it? to-be-sorted6

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2009 7:11 am

    Aha… nice pics… good to get a glimpse of your world…

    when ever i think of green meadows and country side i think of england and scotland, although i have never been there, so many movies and books have instilled that in me…

    The damp weather, the green grass and most importantly no dust !

    • March 14, 2009 5:14 pm

      true Dhiren…its just like you read in books [ am talking abt countryside]…..its amazing!

  2. March 14, 2009 7:33 am

    Lovely pics of a beautiful place! Nice home too,Sahaja. Wish you have a great time there.

  3. March 14, 2009 10:58 am

    Thanks for showing us your home, Sahaja! Very nice!

    And the town looks lovely, too.

  4. March 14, 2009 3:42 pm

    Nice place!

  5. March 14, 2009 5:15 pm

    @ Gopinath, Manju and Reema – Many thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ town is just like a english countryside!

  6. March 15, 2009 4:19 am

    Nice snaps sahaja,i loved ur kitchen.
    I just changed the background,u check this link u will get many backgrounds were in u can choose and use it on our blog.http://www.thecutestblogontheblock.com/free-backgrounds/free-backgrounds
    Check it and let me know if it worked or not.

  7. rajturl permalink
    March 15, 2009 4:45 am

    Cool …so nice..take me there ๐Ÿ˜€
    And I see a new template often ๐Ÿ˜€ trying out new stuff eh ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. rajturl permalink
    March 15, 2009 6:11 am

    Ok u r on my blog pals list on my blogspot ๐Ÿ™‚
    my wordpress yet to expand..yet to gain popularity…

  9. March 15, 2009 9:54 am

    Nice pics and info Sahaja ๐Ÿ™‚ your home is really nice.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • March 16, 2009 10:31 pm

      @ Varunavi – Thank you for the link ….will be there right away!
      @ Rajeev – dint tell me how u like new template! ya trying out new stuff change is law of life na, ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for adding me on ur blogroll ๐Ÿ™‚ u r already in my reader!
      @ Kanagu – Thanks very much ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. March 15, 2009 10:02 am

    so lucky …. I wished I could watch Man U play on thier home ground , some day ….. how often do you sneak out to show one of their contests ๐Ÿ™‚

    Me : I went once thats all…its mainly coz I have no one to go with waaa ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  11. March 19, 2009 9:44 pm

    Cool pics! ๐Ÿ™‚ Chester looks very clean and green!

  12. March 22, 2009 7:27 pm

    Lovely pics Sahaja, You are very good at keeping your home beautiful.

  13. March 22, 2009 7:27 pm

    Lovely pics Sahaja, You are very good at keeping your home beautiful.

  14. March 25, 2009 12:55 pm

    Lovely Post! Sahaja! Chester looks so pretty!! And your house is all spic ‘n span. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

