Skip to content

Dev D – Movie Review!

March 15, 2009

Well, I decided now that I have internet and I do watch a lot of movies, why not save my views as reviews on my blog! Bingo, here I am setting up a template and started writng the review ! And Here, you might find reviews, of old movies too….Its just my take and who knows these might suggest a nice movie for you guys! 

Movie Name :  Dev D

Cast and Crew : Abhay Deol, new comers – Kalki Koechlin

Mahi Gill

Music : Amit Trivedi

To me, the songs were def not musical, not something I would listen to when I am tensed or something…..

Emotional Athyachaar…hmm should say it’s a number that cant be ignored….but still not so musical….

All the songs I felt were made up from a mixture of a lot of old songs and with speaking the words in rhythm rather than singing!

To me, it was just ok.

What I liked and What I did not!

 Dev’s character , the way Abhay did it and all…..acting wise, cant comment. Character wise, the way its potrayed – hmm…. ….it was more on what Dev wanted from Paro or Chandu…but definitely he was not thinking of what he gave or for that sake, what they wanted!

 Paro – made things look may be modern…..well whats being modern? I felt this was good mainly because, she was not 18yr old…she was shown as a mature woman rather than a stupid teenager taking wrong steps!

 Chandu – I liked her role a lot!! Things often go wrong….A bold brave girl who actually took all the brunt of a mistake due to immaturity may be……realised it and became strong! The new actor did it well. She was looking 17/18 correctly!

 Overall Review : 

I would think this is one time watch …but def not as a relief …so  I wud recommend it as movie to watch when you are bored….but not the one you watch when you want to relax and ease off! I would give it a 3/5.

Now that I did start to show off that I am a movie buff 😉 , Let me follow Reema’s advise of spreading the word 🙂

Voting is Live here for the MovieManiax Awards

 

34 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2009 4:08 pm

    Hehehe the brains behind this endeavor (MM awards) Vee has seen this movie 5 times!!
    But I agree with your review.
    Thanks for spreading the word.

    • March 15, 2009 4:21 pm

      that was quick reema 🙂 Thank you 😀

      5 times whoa! one of my friend also loved it and i saw it coz of him 😀 its just what we like i think 😉

  2. March 15, 2009 4:15 pm

    I liked the movie very much …. can be an excellent time pass … won’t get bored watching it …..

    After a very very long time Times Of India rated a movie 5/5 … It was Dev D….

  3. March 15, 2009 5:09 pm

    A very nice review.. great way to start… short and sweet 🙂 As harsh said TOI has given a rating 5, but they have the habit of giving an extra 1 star than it deserves. Hope to read more reviews from you 🙂

  4. March 15, 2009 7:10 pm

    Hey I also reviewed this movie!!
    I agree it is a serious movie, you are right although it is entertaining also, it can’t be considered relaxing. Loved both Paro and Chandramukhi, he has shown how a strong person can make life out of toughest situations …
    Nice review 🙂

    • March 16, 2009 9:45 pm

      @ kanagu – Thanks very much!! 😀

      @ IHM – Thanks IHM!! I loved them both too! ! Its a diff movie!

  5. March 15, 2009 7:38 pm

    Oh! I am yet to watch this one. The other day I caught a glimpse of Filmfare awards and some Oye Lucky something won couple of awards. I didn’t even know such a movie existed. Good to see different movies getting appreciated and now considered to be mainstream.

  6. March 16, 2009 5:33 am

    More than the story telling, this movie is a technical masterpiece: the camera work and the color.Notice the Emotional atyachaar(rock version) camera fix that goes with Abhay in the song(i think that is the scene but whatever it is,it is new and brilliant).And not very often we see such stories being handled so professionally.Abhay showed his brilliance through a very calm portrayal, Kalki was outstanding (esp the scene involving the conversation between these two in the randikhana).Well, i wish to write a review myself but to put it simply, Dev D is a huge achievement in film-making.
    Good review and thanks for making me have a say 🙂

    • March 16, 2009 9:46 pm

      Thanks Rajeev for your view 🙂 ….I too felt Kalki was outstanding…..I dont know much about the tech details thats why didnt write anything here but ur comment adds value 😀

  7. March 16, 2009 6:17 am

    Nice to see you widening the horizons of your blog!

    Your first movie review- I must catch the movie and see if I agree with what you’ve written about it! 🙂

  8. March 16, 2009 8:01 am

    The new template is really nice and also the header, great one 🙂

    • March 16, 2009 9:49 pm

      @ Manju – Thanks Manju 😀 Blogging does make you find new horizons haina?

      @ Kanagu -thank you 🙂 I found image on net and felt its exactly represents me 😛

  9. Rashmi permalink
    March 16, 2009 11:54 am

    Hey came here via chirag’s blog…You have maintained really nice blog..header is gr8 🙂

    • March 16, 2009 9:50 pm

      Welcome here Rashmi 🙂
      Thank you …Hope to see you more!!

  10. Chirag Chamoli permalink
    March 16, 2009 12:55 pm

    Sahaja here are my comments very shamelessly copied from another blog 🙂
    My view of Dev D

    One: It was a simple satire on all the men who think that they shold get married to “Sati-Savitri” I mean come on guys, its ’09 now, everyone is free to make choices.
    Two: the hipocracy that runs deeps where “no-sex-before-marriage” morals are tutored everyday and still we have a staggering huge populations and unemployment, can we for once lokk at that.
    Three: I’ve for the American girl, she didn’t waste her life think how to be excepted, she went ahead and took the life with the horns and started making things possible.
    Four: India has this stupid notion of “Don’t get caught” exams, traffic, voting, malls, hotels everywhere we cheat and if someone gets caught we pour all the hell on them. Why, because “they got caught?” or they were doing something wrong.
    Five: On the lighter side, I did like the amount of alcohol consumptions 🙂

    • March 16, 2009 9:52 pm

      Welcome here Chirag 🙂

      That was a great review…simple and short!….I think except for 5 I agree with everything you wrote here! 😀

  11. March 16, 2009 4:29 pm

    Haven’t seen this and no plans of watching as well 🙂

    Cool review and thanks for spreading word for Movie Maniax 🙂

  12. March 16, 2009 6:02 pm

    The new picture in the blog title is SUPERB!! I can make anyone smile 😀
    It is damn good.

  13. March 16, 2009 6:09 pm

    i havent seen the movie but 3/5 isnt bad…
    btw LOVED ur new header..did u make it urself??

    • March 16, 2009 9:55 pm

      @ Smita – thank you 🙂

      @ Swaps – Wowwww….I am glad to have a comment from you after soo long Swaps!! Thank you thank you 😀

      @ Mandira – ThanQ ThanQ :D….No I dint make it, found it on google and thought it suits me 😀

      • March 18, 2009 7:22 pm

        “..after soo long ”
        Yeah..sorry abt that.

  14. VINAY permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:30 pm

    1. Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

    2. I put my words here: ” Movie is also art, so everyone makes their own interpretation.

    3. I may not say, that movie is half cooked, and the music is best of the year. The reason being below!

    3. My review: Before I watched the movie, I liked songs: ***Payaliyaaa, **emotional, *Yehi meri Zindagi. I first watched movie only half, and thought its too modernized and out of focus, next out of boredom, so totally… I had completeness in portraying three characters independently, with their own freedom, and yet showing the impact of all three on each other.
    I agree that Chanda is the best, and she being shattered and finding solace in wrong place, and realizing it after finding her mirror reflection in Dev is shown in the best way it could be shown.
    Paro is wonderful in two ways. First for giving her everything, when she thought Dev loved him, and next doing anything, when she thought he doesn’t deserve her.
    Dev, for being alcoholic is best shown the way he is portrayed in original Sarat’s novel, and setting him up in Vodka times. He is confused, boasted with his stature, and blinded by his ego.. fails himself in every manner.. Realizes his capability to be loved by chanda..

    Different in ending though, but I liked the way movie was picturized and story told closer to emotions, rather than showing extravagant sets and romantized scenes.. I now hate Bhansali Devdas purely 😛

    4. Thank you again 🙂

    • March 16, 2009 9:57 pm

      Thanks So much Vinay 🙂
      I am very glad to see such a nice comment from you !! Well, as I said, half cooked I meant – shown one side only….but may be you are correct, afterall its a movie and it could be picture from one side 🙂

  15. VINAY permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:33 pm

    P.S:
    pardon my errors 😦
    again

  16. Krishna Kumar permalink
    March 18, 2009 1:55 am

    Nice review…aite movie choodocha…choodaballeda…Emosional Athayachar maatram keka…

  17. March 18, 2009 4:15 pm

    Thank You for yor lovely comments.

  18. thecyberpb permalink
    March 19, 2009 5:01 am

    Hi, you have a good blog. I think you should submit your articles at our articles directory – http://www.articlesofindia.com free of cost to increase exposure to your articles and your popularity as an author. All you need to do is create a free account and start submitting.

  19. March 19, 2009 9:16 pm

    An okay film nothing to great about it at all.

  20. March 19, 2009 10:18 pm

    Its been a long while since I came this side. I am really sorry, I got lost on the way somehow. 😀 But you know what, I am going to blogroll you right now so that I can keep a watch on you 😉

    I would totally disagree with you on the review of Dev D. So lets not get into that. LOL.

    Thanks for spreading the word on the MovieManiax Awards 🙂

  21. Nikhat permalink
    March 20, 2009 9:59 am

    hey I have read only ther eveiws and decided that its gonna be a very diferent kinda movie. Yet to watch it! But thanks for the honest reveiw! The newspapers’ critics rated much more than 3/5.
    Cheers!

  22. March 20, 2009 8:12 pm

    @ Kabir – Well, I felt there is something diff in it!

    @ Vimuu – Well I thought you forgot 😛 but glad you are here again….Welcome Again :), u have a tag waiting if u dint do it earlier !!
    Ofcourse perceptions differ dont they? 😀
    About Moviemaniax…Ohh I was soo excited abt it …would be glad if I can do any little help 🙂

    @ Nikhat – Many Many Thanks for dropping by 🙂 Welcome here 😀
    And you might enjoy the movie, its a different movie, I gave it 3 coz my most impression on a movie is thru music 🙂 though its ok its not melody here!

  23. March 21, 2009 8:20 pm

    nice blog, good reviews , your pics are good

  24. April 11, 2009 10:24 am

    Dev D is a finely tuned film describing the old devdas in a typically modern fashion with all the essence of great direction and songs. It’s the best movie with great humor.

Leave a Reply

