Skip to content

An Interesting Analogy!!

December 14, 2008

Last week, I got a link of a video from one of my friends….and Ya, its about the reactions to the Mumbai attack….I should say, its one of the video which actually disturbed me a bit….its from Pakistan Media. I had no idea of authenticity of the video and so no comments about it now.


I asked Nita for her advice if she came across that particular video which depicts the despise against Indians! Thanks Nita once again for time 🙂


Now why am I saying all this?


One of my colleagues gave me a new insight into all this turbulence. And I quite liked the concept of it. I will try to explain it here :


Each country has 3 different stages since its born! Just as we have – childhood, middle age and old age [youth is excited version of childhood]


When a country is child, just as parents take care, parent countries [or say adult contries] tend to be the biggest influence in the financial, social and general conditions and its growth. – Like how India was 60 years before – parented by U know who?


Then, just as the child grows – rapidly for first few years and steadily for further years till it reaches mid-life crisis – the country also grows!!


Just like India developed rapidly in past 30 years! Didn’t she? – When I was a kid [which is just 5-10years back] I never knew what a computer was…I don’t know ipods, don’t know if they could be affordable even if I know few things…. I never thought I would fly! Yesterday I was shopping to get gifts for friends and relatives at home since I am going back and believe I could not exactly find something that isn’t available in India….I remember, 5yrs back how I used to wait for my mamayya [uncle]’s family to come back from Singapore just for chocolates! Isnt that a rapid development??? 

Now, Once  this stage passes, there is an almost constant development observed in the country – like sustaining development and also keeping abreast with new technologies!! This is the stage where in lotsa importance is done on various other things like environment, research to develop new stuff etc etc is encouraged!

This is the stage when the person passes his youthful energy to a more dignified adulthood energy ….when he strives to develop his family and career with equal passion!!Here he seeks advise of his parents still and takes steps accordingly!!

This I felt is the present state of America – sustainable development, treaties, relations being the main focus!

Last stage, now is the stage where most of europe could be identified with!

In the life cycle of a person, there comes a stage when the responsible adult feels [without realising] that his decisions are by far final and he would be the head of the family….i.e; the child has outgrown his parents!! He doesnt even realise when this trasnition happened…but finds himself in the position his father once was holding!!

European, once captitalistic nationals like UK/france come under the parent category and one of its outgrown kids being USA! India, Brazil , Russia and China are fast growing to come to that transition stage next to USA…..and its like a Big Brother [lot of age gap 😛 ]

And thus , the cycle repeats…..each child country would def feel this transition – from being taken care [or under rule of] by parent country to outgrowing its parent!!

Also, during this transition , there might be many changes in the household of the child……like change of place, livelihood, turbulence at home etc…..These are similar to the state/land/financial problems faced by the baby countries!!

Eg. If in first stage, the parent [ruling] country brings kids from various backgrounds together …..there are 2 choices – one bringing them together with force and second on mutual agreement!! If its first, one day or other they fight as expected! else they prosper together !!

e.g – USSR being formed first by force [dont know exactly but most people say this!] broke up during transition and now again are coming together in harmony by interest!!

USA formed by mutual agreements of states is as we see prospering!! right?

What about Indian Union??? As of now , I dont know really which category it falls into……I prefer it was rather divided by force so hopefully peace would soon be restored!

One more interesting observation I made is……60 years back, at the time of WW II , germany was so much of an enemy of France and UK allies! and now they are friends in good terms! Its also a transition…..a transition of siblings!

Just as India and Pakistan………Its soon going to be friends may be 5 generations from now!! Who Knows??

PS : India centuries before could have been the adult country extending from Kandhahar to Mongolia….And now again, its a child growing rapidly !! Similarly we could relate for other countried historically!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. sailaja permalink
    December 14, 2008 5:58 pm

    Hi Sahaja, wonderful post!! GRReat. very good analysis put in your own wording. The new script also is good to see. why don’t u change the background to some dark one so that the snow is clearly visible?

    Hope you are enjoying at hyd. where are u BTW? from this post it looks as if u are still in Chester buying gifts. ok anyways enjoy ur stay with Mom and Brother.
    i liked your drumstick tomato curry also.

  2. December 15, 2008 4:54 am

    Nice perspective of relationships you have put up there, Sahaja! Since the lifespan of countries could be larger than individuals, perhaps each phase could outlive us!

  3. December 15, 2008 6:32 am

    Ahh.. quite a concept!

    And the video you are talking about was mentioned by TOI too!! so ought to be authentic! 😦

  4. December 15, 2008 1:12 pm

    Wonderful post Sahaja!!! quite refreshing to see the stages of a country in the life stages of a man.. 🙂
    we are rapidly growing by they are not reaching the deeper parts of the country. If they are getting it means their orginality is being lost(Agriculture).
    As you mentioned India and Pakistan may come together and have relationship that we can’t dream off now. but that will be the healthier sign for both the countries.
    But we can’t compare ourselves with European countries.. because if Germany was an enemy to France and allies it purely because of Hitler and Nazism.. But we couldn’t see Nazism anywhere there now.

  5. December 15, 2008 5:18 pm

    I never thought it that way!! Going by the analogy, I feel we are still an infant nation, because we are craving for toys like ‘development’ while we must strive for ‘greatness’ befitting an ambitious youth.

    Sahaja, just now I am reading “Himalayan Blunder’ written nearly 40 years ago, I regret to see how little we have changed…just repeating old mistakes.

  6. December 16, 2008 2:24 am

    @ Sailaja aunty – Thanks very much for comments…I am in Hyd now :D….just now back from Shirdi!! Would be travelling a lot….This post, I scheduled it to get posted [testing the wordpress feature] and it worked Yayyy!!!

    And Ya, I felt it as an interesting analogy!! I was asking one of my collegues a question and his answer made me ask the position in europe 50years ago and it gave rise to this discussion! Lovely friends I have got!! 😀

    @ Gopi – Ya definitely! It might span over 50-200years and more who knows! But still, its a cycle , yet another magic of Nature to keep things in order!

    And Ya, I see ur blogavatar on my blog seems perfectly suitable for U….like a wise man smiling mysterously!! 🙂

  7. December 16, 2008 2:31 am

    @ Sakhi Di – Oh My MY!….Isnt it sad 😦 …I just cant understand how people could be so rude…be it be ours or theirs!

    @ Kanagu -Thanks 🙂
    Hmm…i can see what u mean…there is no force which seperated us being one right? Hm…to me terrorism does the role though there is no comparision between nazism and it!
    And all these take me back to one and only one point….education and awareness!! education not as in literacy….education as in knowing what one does!! Awareness of rights and duties of single individual!
    Respect for fellow human beings……irresptcitve of the profession/work!

    @ Swaps – Ya Swaps…we are still in child stage, but as a youthful energy……Soon , if united we can pass this stage!

    And about learning from mistakes……Awareness yet again is the tool I feel….If one knows that its a mistake, then only he can avoid it right? I think Thats missing in India sadly 😦

  8. December 16, 2008 6:43 am

    Sahaja, I am late here but let me congratulate you for this post. Yes it is quite true that there are life cycles that countries go through and at times the decline too happens when a country reaches its peak. That is what happened to both India and China. The reasons for the decline were different but the decline did happen. In the case of India it was completely crushed, killed so to say when it was at its peak, and when a country is crushed with violence, then it becomes more difficult for it to revive itself so I think in India we are doing a wonderful job of it. Also take any system, the minute you put foreign particles in it, the turbulence starts and if the foreign particles are inimical to the system, but are dominant, the whole culture is destroyed. Luckily China did not go through this kind of turbulence, but it has gone through another kind.
    The decline can also be societal, and I think to some extent it has happened in some western cultures like America, and it has happened from the point of health also (obesity). However I also see America catching itself in time and that is what any country can do if it is suffering. It need not go down to the destruction that India did. And it won’t.

  9. December 16, 2008 12:17 pm

    Wow Nita…..Thanks for complementing my post with your analogy!!! I am honoured indeed!

    Exactly, decline could be in any form…..like that in US….all we need to do is, not letting ourselves overwhelmed with any sort of thing be it positive or negative!! I mean, just as at youth , we should take care that we dont fall prey for bad habits!

    And when I saw Wall-E , I truly felt , i wont be surprised if one day Americans become like that!! 😛 [i dont say we all coz, we dont have time to think about comforts what will we go for luxuries? atleast for the time being!]

  10. December 16, 2008 1:34 pm

    hey thats quite an interesting thought ..stages for a country 🙂 reaal good imagination there dear! and yeah i do wish if only one day india and pakistan were friends!

    Thanks verbi!! Ya somehow I feel it would happen sooner than later….dont know how many generations from now !

  11. December 17, 2008 11:24 am

    Sahaja, it is not just one video there are many more in circulation and they are quite offensive. On youtube if you watch the comments of Hamid Gul the ex ISI chief and many others of his types you will be shocked. But there are many columnists and commentators who are objective and talk sensible in Pakistan. To have a balanced view of what is happening in Pakistan one should see both sides of the story.

    Hmm Ya….there are many videos i guess circulated but atleast people like me, cannot possibly comprehend the rudeness depicted in some of the videos…..be it be any side….something assures me that its just superficial layer of people, common man be it be this side or the other doesnt feel that!! I dont know if i am correct but I hope so!
    And I agree that to have a balanced view we should have view of both sides!
    And Ya, Welcome to my blog 😀

  12. December 17, 2008 10:20 pm

    That’s an interesting analogy indeed, Sahaja!

    I’m not so optimistic about South Asia. Things are pretty bad and it looks like it’s going to get a lot worse before it gets any better, if at all. In the world’s most densely populated region, the population is still exploding at an alarming rate. This negates any development and its going to lead to a lot of conflicts, given the disgusting lack of democratic spirit in the region. It’s going to take a long, long time for this region to pull itself out of the “Third World” in terms of development.

    By the way, where is that video? I’m going to search for it to know what the extremists in Pakistan have to say.

  13. December 18, 2008 8:18 am

    Wow …wonderfull post ..
    u know i got a mail where pakistani media showed that half of india will be theirs by 2020 .. they showed pakistan occupied half of india …
    How silly …!!!

  14. December 19, 2008 3:06 pm

    Hey, an extremely interesting post. Thanks.

  15. December 28, 2008 12:03 am

    Great post, girl! 🙂
    It reminds me of passionarity thory by Lev Gumilev (I posted some times ago), it is a good analogy.
    However I would not compare the british rule over India with India`s childhood – what about the millenia old history of India then??
    I believe that only nations that are spiritual, have the ability to rise again, even after the fall…
    There should be some déeply rooted substance… therefor my prediction goes for China, Russia and India as the future world leaders…may be distant future, but still.

Trackbacks

  1. Blog anniversary!!!! « Straight Drive

Leave a comment